Reviews

Reviews

Reviews taken from different platforms.

Alan Brown is always so grateful to our loyal customers who take the time to write reviews and testimonials and he personally takes the time to read and digest every one.

So a big big thankyou to all our loyal customers.

  • We are so pleased to have met Alan. He did a phenomenal job repairing and restoring a wreck of an 18th century oil painting of a tavern scene we purchased about a year ago at a small local saleroom. The work Alan did completely transformed the picture into a stunning work of art, which has been hung in pride of place in our house. My wife and I couldn't be happier as we live in a former 17th century tavern. Thank you Alan!

  • Paul Bloomfield
    Paul Bloomfield
    06-04-2020
    Google

    Alan did an excellent job on restoring our old oil painting, now happy to show it off in our living room, thrilled as we thought it was beyond repair and would end up in a skip

  • DaneP-8
    DaneP-8
    16-05-2021
    Yell

    I am one very satisfied customer. I took an oil painting, dated 1943, of my grandfather in to be cleaned, touched up and requiring a new frame. The result is spectacular, and now hangs in pride of place at the top of my stairs. Mr Brown was friendly, welcoming, and clearly loves the work he does. I thoroughly recommend him.

  • Sarah Williams
    Sarah Williams
    06-11-2021
    Google

    I’m actually quite glad my painting fell off the wall because Alan has done an amazing job not only reframing it but flattening it out to it’s original self and restoring the paint etc. There are things in the painting now that I’ve never even seen before in the 40 years since I inherited it. My grandmother would have been delighted, as I am.

  • June Viner
    June Viner
    06-04-2020
    Google

    We were very pleased with the portrait of great grandfather. He was in a very sorry state & so was the frame. Alan did an amazing job. The down side is it took six months to be done.

  • Amanda Till
    Amanda Till
    06-04-2020
    Google

    Loved the service and care to responsibly restore the damage and clean my painting. Thank you Mr Brown

  • PatD-130
    PatD-130
    19-09-2021
    Yell

    Alan did a great job of restoring an 18th century painting for us. It needed cleaning and had suffered some damage and paint loss over the years, but Alan brought it back to its original glorious condition. He also helped us to choose a frame which shows off our painting to best advantage. The end result was outstandingly good. Alan is much in demand and top-quality work can’t be rushed, but in our experience the final outcome was superb.

  • Judy Prangnell
    Judy Prangnell
    06-04-2018
    Google

    Would definitely recommend this place. We are really pleased with the oil painting that Alan cleaned so superbly.

  • F.M. Airey
    F.M. Airey
    06-09-2021
    Google

    Alan has beautifully restored our early 19th century oil painting. I had been very apprehensive about entrusting the painting to anyone; it has been in the family for many decades and is of great sentimental value, but it clearly needed some care and attention. After some research on the internet, I found Alan. He was able to remove layers of dirt, varnish and over-painting to reveal the original work in all its beauty. He also stabilised the canvas, which was very fragile, and repaired the frame. He has a long waiting list, but quality is worth the wait. Highly recommended.

  • JaneP-576
    JaneP-576
    29-10-2021
    Yell

    I have three Victorian oil paintings which belonged to my grandparents and are of great sentimental value. One had been badly damaged in a house move. Alan repaired the huge tear and beautifully restored all three pictures and frames. They now hang on my wall, ready, in time, to move to the next generation. Thank you Alan I can recommend your work without hesitation!

  • Alan did a brilliant job repairing, cleaning and rebacking our Victorian oil painting. The original canvas was in poor condition. It is now well prepared to survive the next 130 years! Thanks again Alan.

  • Giles Howell
    Giles Howell
    06-04-2018
    Google

    We had two Victorian oil paintings with flakes of paint coming adrift and a small hole in one. Alan is a skilful restorer/conservor. He sympathetically restored both the paintings and the original frames. We couldn't be more pleased with the end result.

  • My Grandfather's portrait fell off the wall and got damaged. I have collected the painting today and it looks superb. Better than I could have imagined and the frame is complete again and golden. really pleased with this service. Very happy to recommend.

  • Judith Fulton
    Judith Fulton
    06-04-2018
    Google

    Alan did a stunning job of restoring an old painting of my father. By looking at the technique of brushwork, the oils used, and the frame , he was able to give me a fascinating history of the painting. I had told him just the bare essentials about the painting and he filled in details which he had not been told but I knew were correct. Alan was amazing. When we returned to collect the restored painting, well it was unbelievable. I swear my dad looked younger ! Alan's craftmanship was extraordinary and I just wish I'd done it sooner ! Thank you so much Alan for caring for our special painting in such a professional way.

  • MikeI-29
    MikeI-29
    13-06-2019
    Yell

    I needed a large oil painting of Tossa de Mar in the 1950's completely cleaned and quite a lot of restoration work to be carried out. I was recommended to Graham by a friend and found him very friendly and approachable. It took some months as you can imagine rebuilding up layers of paint, but the finished article was superb. The craftsmanship he employed was second to none and I would have no hesitation in recommending his work to anyone. Thank you Graham.

  • MichaelT-431
    MichaelT-431
    26-04-2019
    Yell

    Have just collected my oil on board painting after being restored. The work done has exceeded my expectations, can't thank Alan enough. Also very pleased with the frame he recommended . Will definitely use this service again should the need arise.Michael Thomas.

  • Mansel Jones
    Mansel Jones
    06-11-2021
    Google

    We are thrilled and delighted with the work carried out by Alan. It was thoroughly professional and sympathetic restoration. Thank you. M and K

  • PaulB-2984
    PaulB-2984
    30-04-2019
    Yell

    Alan did an excellent job on restoring our old oil painting now hanging in our living room, very happy as we thought it was beyond repair and would end up in a skip

  • Elizabeth
    Elizabeth
    06-04-2018
    Google

    Alan said the painting I had taken in to restore was one of the worst condition wise, he had seen. He has done an amazing job in restoring it and I'm so pleased with the results. I would not hesitate to recommend Alan's services.

  • Dave Field
    Dave Field
    06-04-2018
    Google

    Alan cleaned and restored a 1940's painting of my Mum that was in poor condition. He was easy to talk to & informative, I'm very happy with the end result & would highly recommend his work.

  • CameronG-35
    CameronG-35
    30-06-2019
    Yell

    I took a rather old and unloved painting that had been left me many years ago to Alan at The Original Artwork Store. I really did not think much could be done for it due to its condition It had two rather large tears in the canvas together with a section where the paint had disappeared altogether. Alan quoted what I think was a very reasonable price and explained what the different processes involved and approximately the completion date. When I collected my painting, I was absolutely delighted with it, it has turned out better than I could ever had imagined. Alan then helped me choose what turned out to be the perfect frame for the painting. I can highly recommend Alan’s expertise to anyone you won’t be disappointed. Thank you again, Alan.

  • Excellent Work! Alan reframed a piece I had purchased, giving it a modern frame and replacing the broken glass. It looks exactly how I imagined it to look, and I would 100% recommend. Also very well packaged and fast shipping! Thank you very much.

  • Miles Dearden
    Miles Dearden
    06-04-2018
    Google

    Alan was very helpful in giving us advice and a very professional service in restoring, and framing our picture.Thank youFaye & Miles

  • Robert Hunt
    Robert Hunt
    06-04-2020
    Google

    Thank you Alan for a nice job of cleaning our 19th century seascape with shipwreck, which came from my Grandfathers homeIt was extremely dull and patchy and you have got some light back on the subject and cleaned overallThe frame has had a good overhaul and issecure again and looks classyIt looks great in our hallway - well done

  • Nataliya Clarke
    Nataliya Clarke
    06-04-2019
    Google

    Alan has done an amazing job restoring my Victorian painting. The painting has had flakes, a hole and some other problems. The result was much better that I expected. It was restored very professionally and I could not be more pleased with the way the painting looks now. Alan replied very promptly and thoroughly to all my emails and questions and the customer service and support have been outstanding. Thank you very much Alan!

  • NickH-454
    NickH-454
    19-10-2019
    Yell

    We took in a grubby and flaccid Victorian oil painting and emerged a couple of weeks later with a beautifully-restored version. Alan was professional, knowledgeable and meticulous, and gave us sensible advice. It was a pleasure to do business with him, and we can recommend him without reservation.

  • Rosalinde Baker
    Rosalinde Baker
    06-04-2021
    Google

    Alan has framed over 10 paintings of mine, and I am very pleased with the quality of work he has carried out.

  • AngelaC-276
    AngelaC-276
    03-06-2019
    Yell

    I asked for an oil painting which had been badly damaged, with a large tear in it, to be restored. Alan did a remarkable job for me, within the time-scale he had set. When he returned the painting to me, the original damage was totally un-noticeable. It was amazing! He also re-framed a picture for me which has greatly enhanced its appearance and valued some paintings I brought into his shop. I would certainly recommend this business to anyone who wishes to have art work restored, framed or valued.

  • Karen Lawrie
    Karen Lawrie
    06-04-2018
    Google

    Alan beautifully restored a couple of paintings of ours and we highly recommend Alan's work to others. He had our paintings for a few months and the final result was worth the wait. Alan's knowledge and expertise is impressive and we will definitely return to him should we need future restoration work.

  • andrew varden
    andrew varden
    06-04-2021
    Google

    I took in an old family painting with a rip in the canvass and looking rather sad. Collected it today and was amazed at how much Alan had achieved. No tear and much more vibrant, much as I remember as a child.Looking forward to many more years of admiring the painting on the wall.Well worth the time spent on it, thanks.

  • David Manning
    David Manning
    06-05-2021
    Google

    Alan did a great job in restoring a much loved painting and frame following an accident, invisibly repairing missing paint and consolidating loose areas. The frame looks better than ever. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Matt Williams
    Matt Williams
    06-04-2019
    Google

    Alan did an amazing job on restoring a painting of the Old Bush Inn Callow End. It hangs proudly in the bar for all to see 🙂

  • JohnB-3178
    JohnB-3178
    28-07-2019
    Yell

    We have a 19th century oil painting that had been in the family for over 50 years and which had been dropped and torn. Alan repaired the tears, reinforced the old canvas, removed the old varnish, touched in the damage marks and made it look brighter and fresher than we had ever known it. We were delighted and will certainly take any artwork requiring repair to him in future.

  • Sue Calcott
    Sue Calcott
    06-04-2021
    Google

    Thank you Mr Brown for your hard work. We are now able to enjoy the 6 paintings, that you have restored, as they should be. I never thought that anyone could do what you have, they are a joy to look at. I cannot praise your work highly enough. Anyone looking for a top quality restorer need look no further that you. I came to you through your online reviews and am so pleased that I did, they are spot on.

Back to Home of Oil painting Restoration

More videos from Alan Brown

 

No posts